acaetano
Hi,

About security:

1. I noticed you're not using https for file browsing, uploading and downloading. Isn't this a security concern?

2. There is an option for SSL regarding the login, but how about the login via the desktop client: is it secure?

About sync:

3. What happens when I just move files between folders? Does SMEStorage recognize the move and just acts at the server/desktop level, or does it delete the files in the old locations and upload/download the same files again (now for the new places)?

4. What happens when I just rename files and folders? Does SMEStorage recognize the rename and just acts at the server/desktop level, or does it delete the files and folders with the old names and upload/download the same files and folders again (now with the new names)?



Quote
admin
In response to your questions:

1. We use https for all authentication. You can use https for any other area of the site just be changing the url to https. 

2. The desktop client by default uses http but you can change it to https

Please also note we are a Mcaffee secure site which means we get audited every day.

3. If file is moved to the same cloud provider then the file location is not changed on provider side if the provider does not support folders (such as Amazon S3). Movement only occurs for providers that support a file move procedure. In this case the file can be also moved to the same folder on the cloud provider side. 

4. SMEStorage will try to rename a file/folder on the cloud provider side too (if renaming is supported by the provider).  Note that in the provider settings we support the notion of Golden copy i.e. who is the master for meta data sync. This can mean that if you have the Provider set to master and you rename a file in SMEStorage, it can be rename back on next sync if the Cloud Provider is set to be the master for data sync.
Quote
acaetano
Quote:
2. The desktop client by default uses http but you can change it to https


How do I do that? Is it enough, in the control panel, to choose the API host as https://smestorage.com/api/?

As to my sync questions, I was thinking in the other kind of sync, that is, between my desktop and a cloud provider (not just between the folder structure in SMEStorage and the one from a cloud storage - by the way, I suggest that your FAQ should explain a little better what are the possibilities for each one of them, and, maybe, coin different names for them): so, in questions 3 and 4 I would like to know how the sync works when synchronizing up and synchronizing down, with respect to moves and renames.


Quote
admin
Yes, you need to set the API host in the control panel as https.

Actually I think maybe you are on a different version of our Windows tools. We enhanced our sync tool so that you can:

1. Sync Up - Sync only new files on local machine up to cloud

2. Sync Down - Sync only new files on Cloud down to local machine

3. Sync All - Sync both up and down

4. Clone Up - Take everything from local machine and Sync / replicate on Cloud. Delete anything that is on Cloud that is not nominated as sync on local machine

5. Clone Down - Take everything on Cloud and Sync / replicate down to local machine. Delete anything on local machine that is not in My Syncs on cloud.

The questions you asked still apply i.e. for 3 if you move a file to a different folder on the cloud then you need to resync your meta data between Smestorage and your cloud provider so that the file is location is correctly set on SMEStorage or the file is moved on the Cloud Provider, and this will also depend on what you set to be the Master for Sync and whether the cloud providers supports the concept of folders. In the new version of the Sync tools you are asked if you want to do a provider sync before local sync is refreshed.

On the rename the same thing applies. This happens during the sync between SMEStorage and the cloud provider rather than the local sync and the rename will depend on what is set to be master, the cloud provider or SMEStorage. All that occurs is the meta data naming is changed on the SMEStorage side, no files are actually moved. If you change the name on the SMEStorage side and SMEStorage is set to master then, if the cloud supports it, we will rename the file on the cloud provider side, if not then we will indeed upload the file to the new location and delete the file from the old location.

If you are a registered user send us an email (Support AT SMEStorage DOT com) quoting your username and requesting the new version of the windows tools and we will send you the link.

Quote
acaetano
Thanks for your explanations. Maybe I should read something more, as some concepts are new to me, and it seems your approach is different from what I am used with other sync software. However, I could not find the answers I want from the help sections of your site.

I have just one of the free solutions (the one related with Skydrive), so I don't know whether I am entitled to the desktop upgrade you mentioned. Eventually I will buy a more complete solution from you, but I would like first to understand how your software works. The possibility of moving and renaming is a very convenient one, as it saves bandwidth and time when substantial changes at that level have been done on one side of the sync pair.

The concept of Master for sync applies only for the cloud sync, right?... I mean, for the local sync (I guess this is the name you use for syncing with the desktop), any changes done at the desktop level will allways propagate (if Clone Up is selected) to SMEStorage folder structure, correct?

And when you mention, in the Clone Down description, that anything in the local machine is deleted if it is not in My Syncs on cloud, you surely refer to "anything" in some specified folder in my machine, right? Though I thought I could sync different folders in my machine, so I'm puzzled by what you mean deleting everything in local machine! Do I need to have a special folder in my machine where I put the folders I'm syncing with SMEStorage?

Quote
admin
Yes ,you are correct. Master Syc only applies to ensuring your current file information in your cloud is up to date. Local Sync or Desktop Sync only applies between the Desktop and the storage cloud.

yes, correct, any changes from the desktop level will propagate exactly if Clone up is used. Note that anything that exists on the cloud that does not exist on the desktop will be deleted within the MySyncs directory if this option is used.

If Clone Down is used then the exact replicate of files and folders that is in My Syncs will be propogated down and anything that is not identical to this file or folder will be deleted.

If you don't want anything to be deleted on either side then you should just use Sync Up / Sync Down or Sync All.

The clone options are there because we have users who have these type of requirements.
Quote
acaetano
admin wrote:
If Clone Down is used then the exact replicate of files and folders that is in My Syncs will be propogated down and anything that is not identical to this file or folder will be deleted.


Sorry, this part is still not clear to me: surely you don't mean anything in my computer, so what is the folder that should be selected in my desktop to be used for sync in such a way that anything in that folder might be deleted with a Clone Down?

Quote
admin
It will be the designated 'root' sync folder that you nominate in the control panel.
Quote
acaetano
So, for example, in My Documents in my desktop, if I want to synchronize two or more folders I have to synchronize all of them (designating the My Documents folder as the root sync folder), right?
Quote
RamItDeep69
admin wrote:
In response to your questions:

1. We use https for all authentication. You can use https for any other area of the site just be changing the url to https. 

2. The desktop client by default uses http but you can change it to https

Please also note we are a Mcaffee secure site which means we get audited every day.

3. If file is moved to the same cloud provider then the file location is not changed on provider side if the provider does not support folders (such as Amazon S3). Movement only occurs for providers that support a file move procedure. In this case the file can be also moved to the same folder on the cloud provider side. 

4. SMEStorage will try to rename a file/folder on the cloud provider side too (if renaming is supported by the provider).  Note that in the provider settings we support the notion of Golden copy i.e. who is the master for meta data sync. This can mean that if you have the Provider set to master and you rename a file in SMEStorage, it can be rename back on next sync if the Cloud Provider is set to be the master for data sync.
Quote